We all could use a little encouragement…

I’ve been in kindergarten at a private school the last 5 years. I’ve heard the horrors of standardized testing, but never really had to deal with it. It sucks. Big time. I have had more students cry in the last few weeks than in the entire year combined, and yes, there have been days where I shut my door at lunch and cry too. It just sucks.

Teacher-Meme-Student-Test-Scores
Meme found at http://www.someecards.com/usercards/viewcard/MjAxMi01YzA4ZDJmOWMzMTY2ZTdh

All I can do is tell the kids how proud I am that they are working their tails off to do the best that they can do. And encourage them to keep pressing on. In the last few weeks, I’ve spent far too much money and time trying to think of ways to encourage kids….

Stickers.

Candy.

Lunch with me (I’ve given up so many lunches lately!).

Handwritten notes.

Anything to keep them encouraged to keep working hard!

I think that, really, I’ve been trying so hard to encourage others, because I need the encouragement myself. And sometimes, we can mend our own hurts by helping to heal others. (AmIRight?!)

So here is how this weeks encouragement notes have gone:

Day One: Pencils

FullSizeRender

Day Two: Smarties

FullSizeRender-1

Day Three: Butterflies

IMG_5260 copy

Day 4: Chill Pills

IMG_5245 copy

Day 5: Mustaches

IMG_5238 copy

I know that this storm will pass. We will make it through testing (we have to, the school year is almost over!). We will have great memories from this year. But I may just move back to kindergarten so that I don’t have to deal with the ridiculousness of state testing again. πŸ˜‰ I’m only kind of kidding…

If you are interested in these notes for your students, they are all included in my Encouragement Notes bundle (along with so many other fun notes to use throughout the year!). Click the picture below to check it out in my store!

Thankful Notes.001.png

How do you encourage your students when they are doing something hard?

Blog Signature

Save

Leave a Reply

